ANNUAL COUNCIL

Tuesday 3 June 2014

Present:-

The Right Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Prowse)
The Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Newby)
Councillors Baldwin, Bialyk, Bowkett, Branston, Brimble, Brock, Bull, Choules, Clark, Crew, Dawson, Denham, Donovan, Edwards, Fullam, George, Hannaford, D J Henson, Holland, Laws, Leadbetter, Lyons, Mitchell, Morris, Mottram, Pearson, Raybould, Robson, Sheldon, Shiel, Spackman, Sutton, Wardle, Williams and Winterbottom

Apologies

Councillors Foggin, Owen and Tippins

1 <u>COUNCILLOR EDWARDS</u>

The Lord Mayor welcomed Councillor Edwards back after his recent illness.

2 <u>ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR</u>

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Leadbetter, seconded by Councillor Robson, that Councillor Graham John Prowse be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

3 APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR.

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Sutton, seconded by Councillor Donovan, that Councillor Newby be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

4 <u>VOTE OF THANKS</u>

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Rachel Lyons and Mrs Saxon Spence have discharged the duties of Lord Mayor and Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

Councillor Denham, on behalf of the Council, presented badges to the retiring Lord Mayor and retiring Lord Mayor's consort.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Hannaford and Councillor Clark have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

5 <u>ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CONFIRMATION OF THE</u> DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL.

Councillor Edwards was elected as Leader of the Council. Councillor Edwards confirmed the appointment of Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

RESOLVED that Councillor Edwards be elected as Leader of the Council and Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

6 MRS YOLONDA HENSON

Councillors Edwards and Leadbetter thanked former Councillor Mrs Henson for her long and dedicated service to the Council and the City, having served as a Councillor for 32 years.

7 APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council confirmed his nominations for Portfolio Holders and Executive membership as circulated.

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Councillor	Portfolio or Group
Edwards P.W	Leader, Budget and Strategic Vision
Pearson O.	Enabling Services
Hannaford, R.M.	Housing and Customer Access
Owen K.	Environment, Health and Wellbeing
Sutton R.H.	City Development
Denham R.C.	Economy and Culture
Leadbetter, A.R.	Conservative
Fullam, A.A.	Liberal Democrat

8 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs and Independent Persons, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be agreed.

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 8.15 pm)

Chair